Electrical Code Adoption and Regulations

Welcome to IAEI’s online summary of state and local electrical code adoptions and standards. This section updates the latest in code adoptions and highlights the major provisions of electrical code, enforcement, inspector licensing requirements (if available), and contractor/electrician licensing requirements for states, selected countries, and local jurisdictions.

To update the adopted code for your jurisdiction, please drop us a line.

Every attempt to provide the most up-to-date information is intended, however always check with the local AHJ to ensure accuracy, as rules and regulations can vary from one jurisdiction to the next.

United States

We believe that electrical safety begins with good codes enforced uniformly across the nation. But how uniform are we? America is as diverse in its adoption and enforcement of electrical codes as it is with its geography, political alliances, and people. From the mandatory state-wide enforcement of the California Electrical Code to the home rule state of Mississippi, our states and local jurisdictions all have their own ways of enforcing the National Electrical Code.

Find Your Jurisdiction

Note: Every state has its own timetable when it comes to adopting the latest version of the NEC. Some states, like Massachusetts, adopt the NEC at the beginning of the code cycle year, such as January 1, 2017 for the NEC-2017. Others adopt the new code throughout that first cycle year, with June 1 being a popular date for the states to begin enforcement. Another trend is for a state to wait until the beginning of the next year of the cycle (2009 for the NEC-2008) to begin adoption proceedings.


The Canadian Electrical Code, CE Code, or CSA C22.1 code is a standard published by the Canadian Standards Association to establish safety standards for the installation and maintenance of electrical equipment in Canada. In Canada, most of the jurisdictions that adopt the CE Code are provincial or territorial, with the exception of the cities of Vancouver and Winnipeg. The federal government of Canada adopts the latest CE Code, but it is applied only to federal facilities (e.g., post offices, military, etc.). Similar to the United States, each province and territory is responsible for electrical safety within its boundaries. Although they all adopt the CE Code, there may be local amendments to recognize geographic conditions or local practices.

The CE Code serves as the basic code for electrical safety, shock, and fire hazards across Canada. Generally, legislators adopt the code by reference, usually with a schedule of changes that amends the code for local conditions. These amendments may be administrative in nature or may have technical content particular to the province or territory [for example, Yukon may make regulations that are different from Southern Ontario]. Revisions to the CE Code are scheduled on a three-year cycle.

  • Adopted Code. Canadian Electrical Code (CSA 22.1)

CSA Group


  • In November 2012, Mexico adopted the NEC 2011. The 2014 is currently under view. The current regulation for electrical regulations is a Norma Oficial Mexicana NOM-001-SEDE-2012 Instalaciones Eléctricas, Utilización.

Ministry of the Economy
Av. Tecnológico No. 106 Ex-Hda. Ojo Caliente Col. 4° Centenario
Zip Code 20190
Area Code: (01) (449)
Telephone(s): 9702501, 9702503, 9702504, 9703315 Fax: 9702502

  • Adopted Code. 2011 National Electrical Code, effective May 30, 2013

Visit Ministry’s Web Site